Close this search box.
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Musée comtois – Citadelle de Besançon

© Eric Chatelain
  • © Eric Chatelain
  • © Fatène Alsayed
  • © Eric Chatelain
  • © Fatène Alsayed
  • © Louis Giannotta
  • © Louis Giannotta
  • © Louis Giannotta
    Language spoken: English Parking Catering on site

    The Musée comtois invites you to reflect on the past and the future through its exhibitions which explore the history of the region, between everyday treasures, popular arts and know-how.
    Discover the history of the men and women who have forged Franche-Comté over the last three centuries in 17 rooms, spread over 3 different levels of access.

    The Musée Comtois is a museum of ethnography, born of the interest of Abbé Jean Garneret (1907-2002) in a regional culture in the midst of change. Founder of the Musée comtois in 1946, then of the Musée de plein air des Maisons comtoises in Nancray in 1988, he was the initiator of a vast popular collection (objects, photographs, drawings, documentation...). Today, with more than 103,000 items and nearly 73,000 photographs, the Musée Comtois collections continue to live on and are a real key to understanding Franc-Comtois society, both ancient and contemporary.


    Opening periods

    Annual closure, from 8 January 2024 to 9 February 2024 inclusive Closed on 1 January 2024, 18 March 2024, 19 March 2024, 20 March 2024, 21 March 2024 and 22 March 2024 (Closed for works). Mondays in low season: Citadelle closed (EXCEPT FOR GROUPS AND BY RESERVATION)
    from Mon 07/01 to Sat 08/31/2024 : from 9:00 am to 7:00 pm
    from Sun 09/01 to Thu 10/31/2024 : from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm
    from Fri 11/01 to Tue 12/24/2024 : Tue-Sun : from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
    from Thu 12/26 to Tue 12/31/2024 : Tue-Sun : from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

    Practical information

    Group service


    Craft industries
    Popular arts and traditions
    Agricultural land


    Specific theme activities
    Junior workshop




      MINI Max Additional information
    Gratuitiesfree visit with the purchase of an admission ticket to the Besançon Citadel