Réseau des Sites Majeurs de Vauban

Created in November 2005, the Réseau des sites majeurs de Vauban is an association under the French law of 1901 which federates the 12 sites fortified by Vauban and included on the World Heritage List.

Chaired by Jean-Louis Fousseret from 2005 to 2020, it is now chaired by Anne Vignot, Mayor of Besançon and President of Grand Besançon Métropole. Its purpose is to coordinate actions in favour of the conservation, management and enhancement of this exceptional architectural, urban and landscape heritage. Since 30 October 2014, the Vauban Network has received national approval from the Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research as an educational association complementary to public education.

The aim of this association is to :
to coordinate the actions of the cities responsible for the management of the Vauban fortifications inscribed on the Unesco World Heritage List, in collaboration with the State services;
to promote the development of an efficient exchange network in the field of maintenance, restoration, conservation, development and tourist and cultural activities of the Vauban sites;
to develop an international resource centre on the management of Vauban’s fortified heritage.
The Vauban Network is supported in its actions by a scientific and technical council chaired by Michèle Virol. Composed of French and foreign experts in the fields of bastioned fortification, architecture and town planning, landscape, Vauban, law, tourism and restoration, it is called upon to assist and guide the work of the association and its members. It meets twice a year and has a consultative voice.

Réseau des Sites Majeurs de Vauban
2 Rue Megevand
03 81 87 82 18

See website